Advanced Search

 

Oso

Oso

Hi I'm Oso! I'm currently in foster and having a fantastic time with my foster family and my foster brother. Ball is life! Some of my favorite things are playing with a ball, playing with a ball, playing with a ball. Oh yeah, and playing with a ball. I sometimes forget to do other things because I love balls so much so you might need to help me with that. 

On leash, I am great! I like to stay next to you most of the time and almost never pull. I know some commands but working on learning more. Will you help me? 

With other dogs, I usually bark right at the start, but once I meet them, I have no problems at all. My foster has a big dog that I like and I’ve had a few others over at the house with no issues. So far, I’m not really into playing with other dogs, but I can live with them without issue.

I love getting body rubs and pets but I have a chronic ear infection that needs meds. So would prefer that you stay away from my ears. I've been told I'm a great snuggler, though! 

With cats, I’m not sure, since I haven’t met any. But I haven’t shown any interest in birds, squirrels, etc., so I might be fine.

When I am home alone, I stay in the house with my foster bro doggo I whine a little when you leave, but haven’t been destructive at all. In fact, I usually just go to sleep.

I will be best suited for a home that is without kids or with older kids. I’m very ball focused but I’m also happy just hanging with you doing nothing (see below), so I’d be happy with moderate exercise. I love people and like meeting new people, too. But I'd really love my own humans! I'm a super-lovey, super mellow guy who just wants to lay next to you and get head scratches. 

I've been told I'm a senior dog, whatever that means but I'd love to spend my golden years with you! I'm 7 years old but still feel like a young kid!

This animal is not with Furry Friends Rescue. For any information regarding this animal please contact Oakland Animal Services at 510-535-5602. Please visit their website: http://www.oaklandanimalservices.org

Details of Oso

  • Name: Oso
  • Type: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Breed: German Shepherd Mix
  • Age: 7 years 6 months
  • Color: Black with Tan, Yellow or Fawn
  • Size: 80 lbs.
  • House trained: Yes
  • Shots Current: Yes
  • Spayed/Neutered: Yes
  • Special Needs: No
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: Unknown
  • Host: Other Rescue Group
  • Organization: Oakland Animal Services / Shelter
  • Date Added: 2/12/20

IMPORTANT!

  • For safety and training reasons for both young kids and the puppy (who will grow to full size by 8 months) or dog, we do not adopt puppy or dogs to homes with children under 8 years old...Read more
  • Most animals can be seen at one of our many Adoption Showcases.
  • See our How to Adopt page for more information on how the Furry Friends Rescue Adoption process works, including important updates due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
  • Furry Friends Rescue adopts animals that will be indoor family members only.
  • Furry Friends Rescue will only adopt to homes in the San Francisco Bay Area. If you're from out of the area/out of state, please check Petfinder.org, AdoptAPet.com and PetHarbor.comfor animals in need of homes in your local area.